Longlist announced for the 2016 Man Booker International Prize


Books from Nobel Prize winners Orhan Pamuk and Kenzaburo Oe are among those longlisted for the 2016 Man Booker International Prize.

The so-called “Man Booker Dozen” of 13 books in contention for the prize has now been made public. It is the first longlist ever to be announced for the Man Booker International Prize.

The Man Booker International Prize has gone through some changes recently, joining forces with the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize and now awarded annually on the basis of a single book.

The £50,000 prize will be divided equally between the author of the winning book and its translator. The judges considered 155 books, and the longlist will be narrowed down to a shortlist of six books, which will be announced on 14 April.

The eventual winner of the prize will be announced on 16 May.

The full 2016 longlist is as follows:

Author (nationality) Translator Title (imprint)

José Eduardo Agualusa (Angola) Daniel Hahn, A General Theory of Oblivion (Harvill Secker)

Elena Ferrante (Italy) Ann Goldstein, The Story of the Lost Child (Europa Editions)

Han Kang (South Korea) Deborah Smith, The Vegetarian (Portobello Books)

Maylis de Kerangal (France) Jessica Moore, Mend the Living (Maclehose Press)

Eka Kurniawan (Indonesia) Labodalih Sembiring, Man Tiger (Verso Books)

Yan Lianke (China) Carlos Rojas, The Four Books (Chatto & Windus)

Fiston Mwanza Mujila (Democratic Republic of Congo/Austria) Roland Glasser, Tram 83 (Jacaranda)

Raduan Nassar (Brazil) Stefan Tobler, A Cup of Rage (Penguin Modern Classics)

Marie NDiaye (France) Jordan Stump, Ladivine (Maclehose Press)

Kenzaburō Ōe (Japan) Deborah Boliner Boem, Death by Water (Atlantic Books)

Aki Ollikainen (Finland) Emily Jeremiah & Fleur Jeremiah, White Hunger (Peirene Press)

Orhan Pamuk (Turkey) Ekin Oklap, A Strangeness in My Mind (Faber & Faber)

Robert Seethaler (Austria) Charlotte Collins, A Whole Life (Picador)

The longlist was selected by a panel of five judges, chaired by Boyd Tonkin, senior writer on The Independent. On the selected books, Tonkin said: “The 13 books that the judges have chosen not only feature superb writing from Brazil to Indonesia, from Finland to South Korea, from Angola to Italy. Our selection highlights the sheer diversity of great fiction today.”

Nobel Prize winning authors Pamuk and Oe will be considered among the frontrunners for this year’s prize. Japanese author Oe’s book, Death by Water, will be his final novel, according to his publishers.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: